Sunday, October 19, 2008

Republican continuity

Apologies if this is already in my blog. Every presidential election year since (and including) 1952, Republicans have nominated a ticket with one of these three names on their ticket: Nixon; Dole; Bush. One exception: 1964, Goldwater-Miller. That loss was historic, eclipsed only by McGovern-Muskie's loss eight years later and matched by Mondale-Ferraro's loss 12 years thereafter. So the GOP went back on track to its Nixon victory plan in 1968 and has been winning regularly ever since. (It lost both times with Sen. Bob Dole on the ticket.) The streak snaps this year, and if the polls hold up, the Elephants will be thinking, mistakenly, "We should have nominated Jeb."

No comments: